Elsie and I, day #88

Where do I start?

Everything was thrown into chaos last Friday, when my son was diagnosed T1.  We’re all feeling a bit shell-shocked.  I still can’t quite believe it’s happened, but it has, so there’s nothing to do but deal with it. The Boy has been fantastic. He seems to be taking it in his stride, but I’ve a feeling there’s a big (understandable) meltdown on the way. I’ve already had a couple and most nights before bed I’m more than a little bit emotional.

We’ve been incredibly well supported by the Paediatric Diabetes team at our local hospital and thankfully he didn’t need to be admitted. There’s been so much to take in, even though it’s stuff I already know. It doesn’t matter that you’ve got nearly 30 years experience dealing with a condition, when suddenly it’s not yourself, but your 10 year old you need to test, inject and carb count for. I’ve always tried to answer The Boy’s questions about my diabetes and I think it’s helped a huge amount. He already understood what Type 1 Diabetes is, including basic physiology and how it is managed.

I’m incredibly proud of how quickly he took responsibility for testing his own blood glucose and injecting his insulin. Without any prompting, he asked when he was going on a pump. So training starts next week. This may change though – going live date clashes with the school show and The Boy is currently mulling over which is better – giving up his big part or delaying go live! I’ll keep you posted.

I really do wish that I could take it away from him, more than anything I’ve ever wanted in my life. It breaks my heart to know that I can’t. All of a sudden I feel like all of my worries and anxieties are trivial and unimportant, and I just want to fix it. I know I’m not alone in feeling this frustration and anger. Countless other parents, including my own, have gone through exactly the same thing. I need to focus on the advantages we have. I’ve already got a fantastic network of people I can go to for help and support and I certainly know enough about diabetes and how the system works to look out for him and create merry hell if things aren’t going as they should be.

As far as things are with Elsie and I, we’ve kind of been bumbling along, things are generally going ok with a bit of a creep up on my overnight and morning readings. I think this down to a shift in my body clock affecting my dawn phenomenon. I know why, but haven’t done anything to rectify this yet. I’ve been working less early shifts than usual and a lot more lates. The net result of this is I’ve been eating later and getting to bed later – often after 2.00am because of the shifts I work. No averages for this post. Technical issues mean I can’t upload data from my pump to the Medtronic site. I’ll hopefully get this sorted soon.

Things to work on: Keep calm! & Basal, Basal, Basal!

Leave a Reply

